Beware of Fake Skype Upgrade Phishing Email

I was checking one of my alternate side emails earlier today and saw an interesting email in my inbox telling me that a new version of Skype was available for download.

It claimed to be the Skype Newsletter, however this particular email account isn’t linked to any Skype account.

Skype Fake Email

An email claiming to be from Skype

Since I was curious, I clicked through the link and was presented with a website attempting to copy the Skype website but advertising a so-called VoIP add-on to Skype and at the same time, an upgrade to Skype.

Skype Fake Website

The fake Skype website

What it really wanted however, was your credit card information.

Skype Credit Card Phishing

The website asks for your credit card information after clicking on the Download button

Now if there was really a new version of Skype available, wouldn’t it just be a download?

Sadly, this email was not flagged as spam by Gmail. This may be due to the fact that the email was digitally signed by a website and the fact that the SPF records pass.

This email may not have been from @skype.com but remember that simply looking at the From: email address is not enough anymore as it is incredibly easy to spoof this address.

Only download software from the official publisher’s website or from well-known download directories (such as CNET Download.com).

Have you encountered a similar email recently? Have any tips on identifying spam messages? Share with us in the comments.

By
Brian is the co-founder and editor-in-chief of TechAirlines. He is also a developer and manages most of the site’s operations. He enjoys web development in his free time and is currently trying to learn Python. He is currently a high school senior in New York City.

  • Patti Katchka

    I received this same email today. I also found it odd to receive the “upgrade” as I do not have a Skype account. However, I did not follow the link, so I do no know what their website had to “offer”.

  • podgem

    I got the same today in my hotmail…and I had one before from this company…I reported it to Skype – they said they too it seriously, etc and would look into it….

    I think this company takes the skype commission for anyone new they sign up (30% for any purhcase made in 90days) and make their money this way….

    they probably bring a lot of new people to skype – and so skype let them slide…very sad if you ask me….they could stop them easily by banning them from their commission/refferral program.

    I gues they let this company do the spamming of peoples emails to boost user numbers & then if any issues or fallout from users (us) we will get the…it wasnt us story & eventually kick them…..

  • http://www.johncowburn.com/ John C

    I too received this in Gmail. As I have Skype pre-pay I was surprised it was requesting Visa details and forcing me into a monthly subscription plan. This is the return path in the email header:

    Return-Path: