Do you need to send a private message to someone? Need the message to be permanently deleted once it is read? We previously covered a website called QuickForget, which allows you to send a message that automatically deletes itself after a certain amount of time or certain number of views.
A website called Burn Note takes this one step further by including copy-prevention features. Furthermore, messages can only be viewed once and only for a certain amount of time.
Messages can be password protected.
There are also options to prevent copying. These methods attempt to prevent traditional highlighting and screenshots. One method is to break the message up into small bits and display one bit at a time. In order to screenshot a message, the recipient would have to create a series of carefully timed screenshots.
The second method is to view the message through a “Spyglass” area. That way, only part of the message is visible at once.
Replies can be created on the same page, although the reply simply creates a new message. It does not link to the original message at all, since the original would be deleted upon being viewed.
An account is optional, but it alerts you when your message has been read and also gives an easy way to send messages to any email address.
The entire website is SSL (HTTPS) encrypted. In addition, there does not appear to be any tracking scripts or beacons on the page.
What do you think of Burn Note? Have a different service to suggest? Share with us in the comments.